Hundreds of Cases Successfully Handled
Lynchburg Domestic Violence Lawyer
Domestic Violence Defense Strategies in Virginia
An accusation of domestic violence is a very serious matter in Virginia. Any accusation or charge of this nature can have severe consequences on your freedom, reputation, finances, and future. You should never face this legal problem without the guidance of a trusted criminal attorney whose sole interest lies in protecting your rights and best interests.
The days and weeks following any family abuse accusation can be confusing, stressful, and uncertain. With little or no experience with the criminal justice system or the laws that pertain to your case, you may feel abandoned and alone in a cold, impersonal system. At A. R. Pike Law Firm, we take each case seriously, knowing how deeply your future can be impacted by the defense strategy we build on your behalf.
Call our Lynchburg domestic violence attorney at (434) 264-5444 to discuss your case today.
What Constitutes Virginia Domestic Violence?
Under Virginia law, domestic violence occurs when you injure, try to injure, or threaten a family member or someone living in your household. When you use force, threats of force, or any type of violence that ends in physical harm or causes the other person to fear for his or her safety, you can be charged with domestic abuse. Assault, sexual assault, stalking, and violating the terms of a restraining order are examples of domestic violence crimes.
Domestic violence crimes are committed against:
- Spouses and former spouses
- Grandparents and grandchildren
- Brothers and sisters
- In-laws who live in the same home
- Individuals who live together
- Individuals who have children together whether married or unmarried
First offenses as Class 1 misdemeanors are punishable by up to a year in jail, a fine of up to $2,500, potential probation, and possible court-ordered treatment. Third and subsequent convictions as Class 6 felonies are punishable by up to five years in prison and a fine of up to $2,500. At least six months in jail is required for these subsequent convictions.
Note that domestic violence arrests are an exception to Virginia's rule that an officer needs an arrest warrant to take someone into custody. An officer may arrest someone on charges of domestic violence without an arrest warrant if he or she has probable cause to believe that the individual has violated a protective order or committed assault against a family member. (Va. Code Ann. § 19.2-81.3.)
Protective Orders in Virginia
Domestic violence cases often involve protective orders or "restraining orders," which are a type of court order that forbid certain individuals from making contact with or being in the presence of another person. If you are accused of violating a protective order, you will be held in contempt of court and charged with a Class 1 misdemeanor.
Get Help from a Knowledgeable Legal Professional
Our Lynchburg domestic violence lawyer brings exceptional training and experience to each case and client. We know how to build defenses and how to fight aggressively to help you reach an optimum resolution.